Tweens and Teens Addicted to Minecraft. Is yours?

Interesting link to a post looking at some of the issues around the Minecraft phenomenon. I have begun looking at ways I can use this in the classroom and it has been interesting to see how engaged the students are when using it. One problem is translating what happens in the game into a presentation that shows exactly what is taking place. I have been using the app on the iPads in our Stage 4 classes and have not worked out the best way for students to present what they are doing to the rest of the group. Certainly worth exploring further.

iCyberSafe.com - Living in a Connected World

MinecraftThe problem with Minecraft, as aficionados will recognize, is that there is always ‘just one more thing to do’. Minecraft is a fun and educational game.  It requires thought, skill and concentration and like most things there is nothing wrong with it, in moderation.  Increasingly however  children as young as 8 and 9 as well as tweens are entering the addiction phase.   In coming weeks I will write more about Minecraft but I ask that you all take a look at your child’s ipod this weekend and start tracking their Minecraft experience.  A simple search on Minecraft addiction brings up the following sad cries for help directly from the mouths of our young people:

Minecraft addiction needs help?

I’m addicted to mnecraft and it’s ruining my life. My grades are falling and my social life is crumbling. I NEED HELP.  I have no self control. It’s been like this for m ths and. Can’t keep living like ths.

View original post 223 more words

Leave a Reply

